Friday, August 22, 2008

2008 LARPD Cyclocross Race Series UPDATE

From Shane Huntoon:

Note: Shane has updated the information for the event, including changing the Elite A, Junior A, and Single Speed races to 60 minutes (thanks Shane). Please see the latest flyer at:

2008 LARPD Cyclocross Race Series

I have been working with the LARPD on a new course layout for the ‘08 LARPD CX Series. The new course will be located across the street from the rodeo arena in Robertson Community Park at 3200 Robertson Park Road in Livermore. Some of the races will be held on the new course and some will be held in the rodeo arena like last year.
The new course will be about 7 minutes per lap and more of a euro style CX course layout consisting of 60% grass 35% dirt and 1% asphalt. We have a GPS map of the new course layout. If you would like to see the GPS email me.

The A categories will race only 45 min this year instead of 60 min.

The facility has amenities such as restroom facilities and a paved bike wash area. We have new awards, t-shirts and are securing sponsorship goodies!

We will have photos and race results posted on our Flikr account on the website following each race.

We are also looking for club teams that would like to help they can call or email me.

Shane 925-525-3571 or

Waivers: EVERYONE must sign a waiver.

USCF License is required for races.

Annual ($60) and one-day ($10) license available at the races.

Race Entry Fee: Adults $20, 2nd Race/Junior/Children $5

Juniors must have parent/guardian signature on USCF entry form/waiver.

Entry includes USAC insurance surcharges and NCNCA surcharge.

A Division, B Division, C Division. Also offered: Juniors and Children races!

(C riders are new to Cyclocross, B riders are those that are experienced and A riders are expert)

Equipment Requirements: Cyclocross or Mountain Bikes OK at all events. All size wheels acceptable. No forward facing handlebars.

Courses: Dirt, mud, trails, open land, stairs, obstacles (artificial and natural) to force dismounts.

Prizes: Medals to top finishers in each division in each race of the series. Series prizes to top finishers in each division after final race-all races count toward series point total.

Registration opens at 8:15am. Registration Race Day Only.

Race Dates:

Sept. 6, 13

Oct. 11, 18, 25

Nov 8, 22

Dec 13, 20


Start Time


Men C, Single Speed (B,C), Junior (B,C)


30 min

Women (A, B, Junior, Master 35+, 45+)


40 min

Women C


30 min

Men B, Master B (35+, 45+, 55+)


45 min

Men A, Master A (35+, 45+)


45 min

Single Speed A, Junior A


45 min

Kids CX (10 & under)


15 min

Times/Classes are subject to change